Week Three.

This week at Brandstetter Carroll I continued to build valuable skills that I will use for the rest of my career. Once again, I had many projects going at once therefore I had to manage my time wisely to balance and finish the tasks that I was assigned for the week in a timely manner. I have learned the importance of constantly taking organized notes to keep all ongoing projects separate. Keeping the notes all organized by the project name and number has really helped me keep little details noted, changes made, or just changes that need to be recorded.

One particular assignment this week was to design a “feature brochure” that included information about different items that would be included in the pool project. This project allowed me to make contact with sales representatives and learn what to have prepared before I made the calls. I gathered the information about the product, along with size and price and then used photoshop to design the brochure. This brochure was provided to the client.

I have enhanced my skills of communicating and clearly understanding the desired final product before I begin the design process. Through repeating back exactly what they are looking for, I have saved valuable time in the design process. This skill, which seems obvious, can be easily misunderstood leading to miscommunication and the need for redesign.

My communication skills greatly improved this week through the time spent calling sales representatives gathering information. I quickly learned that when talking to the representative you have to provide very specific details of the product you want more information about. Additionally, I learned that researching the product before is a good idea because it gives you a little background knowledge when talking to them about their product.

This week has had a lot of learning of opportunities that I took advantage of in a good way. I feel I am growing as a designer and professionally and I am excited to see what is to come next week.

IMG_0116 IMG_0115

Leave a Reply

